Pont Blue Conservation Science logo

Pacific Flyway Shorebird Survey

Thank You Volunteers and Partners for Making Shorebirds Count!

Volunteers and partner biologists combine to survey the flyway from November 15th and December 15th.

Interested in Counting Shorebirds?

Volunteer surveyors are the heart of the Pacific Flyway Shorebird Survey. We invite volunteers to take ownership of a survey route and then cover the route each year. Take part in the conservation of shorebirds and their habitats by contributing to a long term monitoring program.


Time Commitment: ~2 days each year:
  • Training: Attend a protocol training session or watch the online training video prior to the survey.
  • Scouting: Become familiar with your site, make sure you know the access points and how long it will take to cover the area.
  • Survey: One day between November 15th and December 15th.
The best candidates for the project will:

  • have their own optics (binoculars and scope)
  • posess reliable transportation
  • be willing to follow a protocol and enter data online into CADC
  • have computer knowledge and skills
  • have a passion for and dedication to shorebird conservation
  • be enthusiastic about long term ecological monitoring projects

  • Please contact a regional project leader from the list below for more information on taking part.

    SiteContactInstitutionEmail
    CALIFORNIA
    Tomales Bay Emiko Condeso Audubon Canyon Ranch emiko@egret.org
    Bolinas Lagoon Mark Dettling Point Blue Conservation Science mdettling@pointblue.org
    San Francisco Bay Mark Dettling Point Blue Conservation Science mdettling@pointblue.org
    Elkhorn Slough Susie Fork Elkhorn Slough Foundation skfork@gmail.com
    Mugu Lagoon Martin Ruane US Navy martin.ruane@navy.mil
    San Diego Bay Blake Barbaree Point Blue Conservation Science bbarbaree@pointblue.org
    Central Valley Blake Barbaree Point Blue Conservation Science
    bbarbaree@pointblue.org
    OREGON
    Columbia River Estuary Vanessa Loverti US Fish and Wildlife Service Vanessa_Loverti@fws.gov
    Yaquina Bay Blake Barbaree Point Blue Conservation Science bbarbaree@pointblue.org
    Coos Bay Blake Barbaree Point Blue Conservation Science bbarbaree@pointblue.org
    WASHINGTON
    Puget Sound Matt Reiter Point Blue Conservation Science mreiter@pointblue.org
    Grays Harbor Vanessa Loverti US Fish and Wildlife Service
    Vanessa_Loverti@fws.gov
    Willapa Bay Vanessa Loverti US Fish and Wildlife Service
    Vanessa_Loverti@fws.gov
    Columbia River Estuary Vanessa Loverti US Fish and Wildlife Service
    Vanessa_Loverti@fws.gov

    For general questions about volunteering or to inquire about a site not listed please contact: Matt Reiter mreiter@pointblue.org